Are your beers vegan?
Yes; we don’t use any finings, except
in the cask-conditioned ales, which are less than 100 kegs a year and served at
only a handful of bars. The rest of our beers are vegan.
Cask-conditioning is an English technique, a special way of packaging the
beer in a keg. When the beer comes out of the fermenter—out of the kettle—it
goes into a cask—which is like a keg, instead of a tank, and you add the yeast
in the cask and then you put a bung (a cork, except made of wood), and it
ferments actually in the keg. When the fermentation stops, you add the
finings—we use fish extract—and you seal it up again. And the
fermentation—conditioning—completes in the keg, instead of in a tank. This
is a traditional English style, and there are only three bars in the city that
can even serve this, like the Blind Tiger, d.b.a., and the Gingerman. If a bar
serves cask-conditioned ale, it’s usually on only one tap, and everyone knows
that that’s the cask-conditioned tap, I mean it costs more money. (Satya